The Governing Board of ARHS

The Board of Health of Albemarle Regional Health Services for Pasquotank, Perquimans, Camden, Chowan, Currituck, Bertie, and Gates counties is established and maintained as the governing body in accordance with the laws of the State of North Carolina of General Statutes §§ 130A-34 through 130A-42.

Question or Comment for the Board of Health?


The Board of Health serves as the global policy-making, rule-making, and adjudicatory body for the district health department. The Board of Health is charged with the immediate care and responsibility of the health interest of the district. The board seeks active public participation in the overall community health improvement process.

The District Board of Health has 18 members. The commissioners of each county in the district appoint one of their members to the Board of Health. These appointed commissioner members then appoint the other members of the Board including at least one licensed physician licensed to practice in the State of North Carolina, one licensed dentist, one licensed optometrist, one licensed veterinarian, one registered nurse, one licensed pharmacist and one professional engineer.

If there is not a member of the district available for appointment as designated above, additional representatives of the general public shall be appointed.

When a member of the general public is appointed due to the unavailability of one of the licensed or professional level members shall serve only until a licensed or professional member can be appointed.

The composition of the Board shall reasonably reflect the population makeup of the entire district and provide equitable district-wide representation. All members shall be residents of the district.

Board of Health Meetings

  • February 27, 2018 - 7:00pm
  • April 24, 2018- 7:00pm
  • June 26, 2018 - 7:00pm
  • August 28, 2018 - 7:00pm
  • October 23, 2018 - 7:00pm


Albemarle Regional Health Services
Pasquotank County Health Department
Board Room
711 Roanoke Avenue
Elizabeth City, NC 27909

Board of Health Members

Chairman: S. Michael Sutton, MD

Pasquotank County
Cecil Perry, Commissioner
Peter A. Erickson, DDS
Eric Matthew Burns, OD

Perquimans County
Wallace Nelson, Commissioner
Jonathan Godfrey

Camden County
Garry Meiggs, Commissioner
William E. Meiggs, Jr.


Chowan County
Jeff Smith, Commissioner
C. Lewis Belfield

Currituck County
Mike Payment, Commissioner
Abby Cartwright

Bertie County
Tammy A. Lee, Commissioner
Tuesday Sauer, NP

Gates County
Ray Freeman, Commissioner
Peggy Johnston, VMD